Best transcription software for researchers in 2026: an honest comparison
For a thesis, a qualitative study or a round of user interviews, transcription is the slow step between fieldwork and analysis. Most tools turn speech into text. Fewer fit research work: long interviews, several speakers, quotes that must be exact, and data participants trusted you with.
This page is published by SonaFact. We compared ourselves as fairly as we could; check each vendor's page before you buy.
How we chose
What we looked at:
- Speakers. Is the interviewer kept apart from the participant?
- Verbatim or clean. Discourse analysis needs every hesitation; thematic analysis usually reads better without them.
- Timestamps. Can you jump back to the audio when a passage is unclear?
- QDA export. Does the transcript go into NVivo, MAXQDA or ATLAS.ti without retyping?
- Data handling. Where are recordings kept, and is AI trained on them?
- Cost. We used 20 hours of interviews a month as the benchmark.
Competitor details come from each vendor's own pricing or product page, checked on 12 October 2026. Prices are as those pages showed them to us (US dollars, or euros where marked) and may change or appear in another currency for you. Where a page did not say something, we write "not stated".
Whatever tool you use, record participants only with their informed consent, and follow what your ethics approval says about storing recordings.
The comparison at a glance
| Tool and plan | Price checked | Transcription included | Longest file | Exports listed | QDA software | Data statement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SonaFact Starter | $9/month or $72/year | 20 h/month | 3 h | TXT, CSV, DOCX, PDF, Markdown, SRT, WebVTT | Export files for NVivo, MAXQDA, ATLAS.ti | Stored and processed in the EU, encrypted; no AI training on customer data |
| TurboScribe Unlimited | $20/month, or $10/month billed $120/year | Unlimited, one person | 10 h / 5 GB | Bulk exports (formats not listed in our check) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Otter.ai Pro | $16.99/user/month, or $8.33 annually | 1,200 min/month, 10 imports/month | 90 min per meeting | mp3, txt, pdf, docx, srt | Not stated | Not stated |
| Happy Scribe Basic | $17/month, or $8.50 annually | 120 min/month | 90 min | TXT, SRT, PDF, DOCX | Not stated | "Made in Europe" |
| Sonix Core | $25/month or $275/year | 5 h/month | Not stated | DOCX, PDF, TXT, SRT, VTT | Not stated | Not stated |
| Rev Essentials | $29.99/seat/month, or $25.49 annually | 5,000 AI min/user/month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No training of external LLMs on customer data |
| Notta Pro | $8.17/month billed annually ($97.99) | 1,800 min/month | 5 h | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Descript Hobbyist | $24/month, or $16/month annually | 10 media hours/month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amberscript Starter | €19/month | 5 h/month | Not stated | Word, JSON, TXT, CSV, SRT, VTT, EBU-STL | Not stated | EU servers for file storage |
| Good Tape Pro | €16/month billed annually | 20 h/month | Not stated | docx, srt, txt, pdf | Not stated | Processing on EU servers; no training on files |
| NVivo Transcription | No price on product page | By the hour, 10-hour pack or annual option | Not stated | docx, txt | Built into NVivo | Not stated |
| MAXQDA Transcription | Visible only after choosing a pack | Packs of 2, 5, 10 or 20 h | Not stated | Not stated | Built into MAXQDA | Not stated |
Tool by tool
NVivo Transcription and MAXQDA Transcription
Good for: researchers who already pay for NVivo or MAXQDA. Transcription built into your analysis software is the most direct path: no export, no import. NVivo Transcription offers 15 free minutes to try; MAXQDA gives 60 free minutes once with a new account.
Watch out for: both are sold by the hour or in packs, and neither showed a price without further steps when we checked.
TurboScribe
Good for: very heavy volume. With a backlog of hundreds of hours, unlimited transcription for one person at a flat price is hard to beat, and 50 files at a time helps with batches.
Watch out for: the pricing page did not state a QDA export path or where data is processed.
Rev
Good for: projects where a machine transcript is not acceptable. Rev offers human transcription at $1.99 per minute, and states it does not allow customer data to train external LLMs.
Watch out for: human transcription adds up quickly (see the cost example).
Otter.ai
Good for: live meetings. Otter's meeting assistant joins Zoom, Teams and Meet.
Watch out for: Pro allows 10 file imports a month and 90 minutes per meeting, so twenty recorded interviews exceed it.
Happy Scribe
Good for: small volumes with a European vendor; Happy Scribe says it is "made in Europe" and has an AI notetaker for Zoom, Meet and Teams.
Watch out for: the Basic plan covers 120 minutes of AI transcription a month. VTT and more formats start on Pro.
Sonix
Good for: occasional projects. Pay as you go at $10 per hour means no subscription between studies.
Watch out for: the Core plan includes 5 hours a month, so a busy fieldwork month costs more.
Amberscript and Good Tape
Good for: European researchers who want the vendor to say where files live. Amberscript states EU servers for file storage and offers human transcription from €1.85 per minute. Good Tape states processing on EU servers and no training on files.
Watch out for: Amberscript showed no free plan; Good Tape describes its free option differently on its pricing page and its FAQ.
Notta and Descript
Notta Pro covers 1,800 minutes a month with recordings up to 5 hours, and has a meeting bot and a bot-free recorder. Descript is a video and podcast editor; its Hobbyist plan ($24/month, or $16/month annually) includes 10 media hours a month.
SonaFact
SonaFact transcribes recordings you upload, in 100 recording languages, with word-level timestamps in 32 of them. Interviews that switch between two languages work too, because the language is recognised part by part.
Features for research work:
- Automatic speaker separation, and renaming a speaker once changes the name everywhere.
- Verbatim mode, or a clean mode that removes "um" and "uh".
- Uncertain words underlined, and the share of uncertain words shown for each transcript.
- A custom vocabulary for names, places and field-specific terms.
- Export to TXT, CSV, DOCX, PDF, Markdown, SRT and WebVTT, plus files for NVivo, MAXQDA and ATLAS.ti (export guide).
- Search across all recordings and ask questions about them, with answers linked to the place in the audio, in every plan.
- Every point in an AI summary links to the moment in the recording it comes from, and the quote checker shows whether a sentence was said exactly like that. Both are in every plan, including Free. We did not find a quote checker like this in the 16 tools we checked in September 2026.
Data: recordings and transcripts are stored and processed in the EU, encrypted. SonaFact does not train AI on customer data, and recordings can be deleted automatically after a time you choose.
Limits to know:
- The Free plan allows 3 transcriptions a day of up to 30 minutes each. A 60-minute interview needs a paid plan: Starter takes files up to 3 hours.
- SonaFact does not join meetings. You record with consent, then upload the file.
- Noisy phone recordings produce noticeably more errors than a quiet room. Plan to check those passages.
What 20 hours of interviews a month costs
Twenty one-hour interviews in a month of fieldwork, at the prices shown on 12 October 2026:
| Option | What it costs for 20 h | Note |
|---|---|---|
| SonaFact Starter | $9/month, or $72/year | 20 h included; files up to 3 h |
| SonaFact Pro | $15/month, or $120/year | 60 h, if you want headroom |
| TurboScribe Unlimited | $20/month, or $120/year | No hour cap |
| Notta Pro | $97.99/year | 1,800 min covers it |
| Good Tape Pro | €16/month billed annually | 20 h included |
| Rev Essentials | $29.99/month | 5,000 AI min covers it |
| Sonix pay as you go | 20 × $10 = $200 | No subscription |
| Rev human transcription | 1,200 min × $1.99 = $2,388 | Human, not AI |
Otter.ai Pro includes 1,200 minutes, but its 10 imports a month do not cover twenty files. SonaFact's pricing page shows prices in your local currency.
How to decide
- Already pay for NVivo or MAXQDA and need a few hours? Try the built-in transcription first.
- Hundreds of hours to get through? Look at TurboScribe.
- Need transcripts made by people? Rev and Amberscript offer human transcription.
- Want to check quotes and export to your QDA software from one place? Try SonaFact with a real interview.
Further reading: SonaFact for researchers, for UX researchers, for students, how to transcribe an interview, a privacy checklist, and free templates: interview transcript, qualitative codebook, transcription style guide. On no budget, see the free transcription tools we compared.
Upload one interview free: 3 transcriptions a day, up to 30 minutes each, no card. Longer interviews need Starter.
Try it on your own recording
The free plan gives you 3 transcripts a day, up to 30 minutes each, without a card — enough to judge the transcript, the speakers and the editor yourself.
Try SonaFact freeUpload only recordings you have the right to use. Record other people only with their consent.
Sources
- sonafact.com/pricing/
- turboscribe.ai/pricing
- otter.ai/pricing
- happyscribe.com/pricing
- sonix.ai/pricing
- rev.com/pricing
- descript.com/pricing
- notta.ai/en/pricing
- amberscript.com/en/pricing/
- app.goodtape.io/pricing
- goodtape.io/frequently-asked-questions/
- lumivero.com/products/nvivo-transcription/
- maxqda.com/pricing